LibGuides: HIS 4372: The New South: Magazines & Journals

Charles Lindbergh

Charles Lindgergh, the "Lone Eagle"

Harry S. Truman

Thomas Woodrow Wilson, 28th President of the United States, 1913-1921 and a Southern.

Magazine & Journals

This page contains links to journals and magazines published in the past. Many of these may contain articles that could be useful to mid-century United States history and could be considered primary sources. However, they are more difficult to search through because they cannot be searched all at once; they can only be searched issue by issue.

Online Books Page--Serials
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all. The Online Books Page was founded, and is edited, by John Mark Ockerbloom, He is a digital library planner and researcher at the University of Pennsylvania. He is solely responsible for the content of the site.

Magazines & Journals

Life Magazine
Call Number: periodicals, 2nd floor
Life Magazine was a general interest magazine that was published weekly from 1936 to 1972. It was known for its outstanding photographs. Holdings: Nov 23, 1936-May 2000
Newsweek
Call Number: Periodicals, 2nd floor
Newsweek is weekly news magazine, which began publication in 1933.
Holdings: July 1944-Dec 2012
U.S. News and World Report
Call Number: Periodicals, Second Floor
Time Magazine: The Vault
Call Number: online
The Vault contains the front covers of every issue of Time Magazine from
Time Magazine
Call Number: Periodicals, Second Floor
Holdings: January 1934- present

Paper Periodical Indices

You can use these older Periodical Indexes to look for older magazine and journal articles about the New South.

Humanities Index
Call Number: Located on 2nd floor
An Index of selected periodicals (345) in the subjects of archology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and related subjects.

Online Versions of Humanities Index

Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles interviews obituaries and original works of fiction drama poetry and much more.Content Includes:
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to humanities and social sciences magazine and journal articles published between 1907 and 1984.

Social Sciences Index
Call Number: Located on 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 1982-2000
An index of selected periodicals (415) in the subjects of anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice and criminology, economics, family studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, social work and public welfare, sociology, urban studies, women's studies, and related subjects.
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature
Call Number: Located on 2nd FLoor
Publication Date: 1982-2007
This is a cummulative author-subject index to about 275 popular interest magazines, including American History, Arizona Highways, Astronomy, Atlantic Monthly, Better Homes and Garden, Christianity Today, D (Dallas), Jet, Maclean's. New Republic, Newsweek, Pyshcology Today, Reader's Digest and Time.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Call Number: Located on 2nd floor
Publication Date: 1802-1906
Indexes 216 general periodicals This index was begun by William Frederick Poole and first published in 1853, with later editions and supplements that brought the coverage of periodicals from 1802 to 1906.