LibGuides: HIS 4372: The New South: Journal Databases

Paper Periodical Indices

Before there were journal databases, there were paper journal indexes. While they are harder to use than the journal databases, they index the journals and magazines of the past that could still be useful to find articles on your topic.

Humanities Index
Call Number: Located on 2nd floor
An Index of selected periodicals (345) in the subjects of archology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and related subjects.
Social Sciences Index
Call Number: Located on 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 1982-2000
An index of selected periodicals (415) in the subjects of anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice and criminology, economics, family studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, social work and public welfare, sociology, urban studies, women's studies, and related subjects.
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature
Call Number: Located on 2nd FLoor
Publication Date: 1982-2007
This is a cummulative author-subject index to about 275 popular interest magazines, including American History, Arizona Highways, Astronomy, Atlantic Monthly, Better Homes and Garden, Christianity Today, D (Dallas), Jet, Maclean's. New Republic, Newsweek, Pyshcology Today, Reader's Digest and Time.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Call Number: Located on 2nd floor
Publication Date: 1802-1906
Indexes 216 general periodicals This index was begun by William Frederick Poole and first published in 1853, with later editions and supplements that brought the coverage of periodicals from 1802 to 1906.

Online Periodical Indexes

These are the online forms of two of the indexes above.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to humanities and social sciences magazine and journal articles published between 1907 and 1984.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles interviews obituaries and original works of fiction drama poetry and much more.Content Includes:

Selma to Montgomery March

Participants, some carrying American flags, marching in the civil rights march from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama in 1965

Journal Databases

Why use these: To find scholarly articles from journals, to find magazine articles that pertain to your research topic.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers many subjects found at colleges and universities. Contains articles from thousands of journals, magazines, news sources, and videos from the Associated Press.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Contains manuscripts, newspapers, and other primary documents focusing on Latino-Hispanic history in the United States.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents covering indigenous peoples in North America culture, history and life.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to essays and articles on the humanities and social sciences. These essays are found in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
Fuente Academica Premier This link opens in a new window
Fuente Academica Priemier is a collection of scholarly journals in Spanish and English from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain, covering all major subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers journals, ebooks, and primary source collections, allowing researchers to retrieve high-resolution scanned images as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The resources archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective provides all the information from 44 Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database and access to over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines; many of the articles are peer-reviewed.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from journals and magazines, plus books and conference papers on all aspects of sociology. The full text in the title means that for some the resources, the entire resource in available in the database.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
A unique database of educational materials from two sources:
(1) Current Index of Journals in Education and (2) Resources in Education (RIE) Index. The RIE contains materials not available anywhere else.