HIS 4372: The New South: Websites

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The contents of the DLA are drawn from special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries.

The Avalon Project from Yale Law School seeks to put on the Internet important documents in law, diplomacy and history. There are documents that pertain to individual Southern states.

The Encyclopedia of Alabama is a free, online reference resource on Alabama’s history, culture, geography, and natural environment.

This is the only state encyclopedia in the country to be produced by a library system. The EOA strives to offer a definitive, comprehensive, and accurate record of America’s twenty-fifth state. The mission of this free online encyclopedia is to collect and disseminate information on all aspects of the state’s history and culture and to provide a comprehensive reference work for historians, teachers, students, and others seeking to understand and appreciate Arkansas’s heritage.

Book written by Nancy Capace and published in 2001 by Somerset Publishers. It is a volume in the Encyclopedia of the United States. The print book is accessible through Google Books.

Book written by Nancy Capace and published in 1999 by Somerset Publishers. The print book is accessible through Google Books.

Encyclopedia Virginia (EV) is an authoritative and user-friendly resource on the history and culture of Virginia. A project of Virginia Humanities in partnership with the Library of Virginia, EV publishes topical and biographical entries written by scholars, edited to be accessible to a general audience, and vigorously fact checked. Entries are accompanied by primary documents and media objects, including images, audio and visual clips, and links to Google Street View tours of historic sites. Encyclopedia Virginia anthologizes the best and most current scholarship that exists on a given topic.

Florida Memory is a digital outreach program providing free online access to select archival resources from collections housed in the State Library and Archives of Florida. Florida Memory digitizes materials that illuminate the state's history and culture.

This is one of the best resources for researchers in Texas history. especially at the beginning of the research process.The Handbook of Texas is a digital state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) that is free and accessible on the Internet for students, teachers, scholars, and the general public. The Handbook consists of overview, general, and biographical entries focused on the entire history of Texas from the indigenous Native Americans and the Prehistoric Era to the state’s diverse population and the Modern Age.

The web edition of The Kentucky Encyclopedia contains all of the entries in the print and CD-ROM editions along with selected front and back matter.

The Mississippi Encyclopedia attempts above all to be a scholarly work about life in the state, past and present. The authors and editors have worked to display the diversity of the state, its people, its politics, its religions, its economy, its arts, and its geography and the dramatic ways all of these facets of life have changed over time.

The online Missouri Encyclopedia is a project of the State Historical Society of Missouri and will provide an authoritative and freely accessible resource for understanding the history and culture of Missouri. A full public launch of the site is expected to coincide with the Missouri Bicentennial in 2021.

NCpedia is the online encyclopedia about all things North Carolina (U.S.A.)
As of January 1, 2019, NCpedia has 8,295 articles and 8,928 images!

The first state encyclopedia designed exclusively for online publication, the New Georgia Encyclopedia reveals the state's rich history, diverse culture, and still-unfolding story. With existing content updated and new content added regularly, the encyclopedia is an organic, "living" project.

The Digital South Carolina Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference source of the people, places, events, things, achievements, and ideals that have contributed to the evolution of the Palmetto State.

The on-line edition of the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture is a joint project of the Tennessee Historical Society and the University of Tennessee Press. This fully searchable version of the print edition, originally published in 1998, contains over 1,500 entries. The online version has updates to existing entries, new entries, more than five hundred additional images, plus audio and video files.

The West Virginia Encyclopedia is the comprehensive reference resource for the Mountain State of West Virginia.

The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia.