LibGuides: HIS 3353: Contemporary United States History: Books

Online Book Catalogs/Archives

In the past twenty years, there have been a number of projects where books have been digitized and made available through online archive databases. The book archives/databases below can be searched by subject, title and author. Theses book databases make many more books available to the researcher, and also many primary source books/documents.

Google Books
Use to find books either in the West Library or at other libraries. Books published before 1923 is usually available in their entirety for free. Google Books has scanned more than 25 million books from major libraries. It estimates that there are 130 million books in the world, and the intention it to scan all of them.
Internet Archive
This web site contains access to over 2.5 million books, 438,000 movies, and almost a million audio recordings.
The Online Books Page
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books (about 1 million) that are freely readable over the Internet. The Online Books Page was founded, and is edited, by John Mark Ockerbloom, He is a digital library planner and researcher at the University of Pennsylvania. He is solely responsible for the content of the site. The site is hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries, who provide the server, disk space, and network bandwidth for the site.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. This digital library currently has: 7,839,381 total volumes, 4,406,107 book titles and 195,241 serial titles.