HIS 3353: Contemporary United States History: Television

ABC News (American Broadcasting Company) is the news division of Walt Disney Television's American Broadcasting Company (ABC) broadcast network.

A digital news service of the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC),

CBS (Columbia Broadcasting System) News is the news division of the American television and radio service CBS.

CNN Digital is the world leader in online news and information and seeks to inform, engage and empower the world. Staffed 24 hours, seven days a week by a dedicated team in CNN bureaus around the world, CNN's digital platforms deliver news from almost 4,000 journalists in every corner of the globe.

FOX News Channel (FNC) is a 24-hour all-encompassing news service delivering breaking news as well as political and business news

For more than 40 years, millions of Americans and citizens of the world have turned to the PBS NewsHour for the solid, reliable reporting that has made it one of the most trusted news programs on television.

Updated around the clock by editorial teams on four continents, Reuters TV taps into a network of 2,500 journalists reporting from 200 locations worldwide. Straight from the source and made to fit your day, it's a leap forward in how we watch the news.

The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television.

iSpot is purpose-built to measure the performance of every ad aired on television with digital-like precision and granularity in real time.

In a media-saturated environment in which news, opinions, and entertainment surround us all day on our television sets, computers, and cell phones, the television commercial remains the one area where presidential candidates have complete control over their images. Television commercials use all the tools of fiction filmmaking, including script, visuals, editing, and performance, to distill a candidate's major campaign themes into a few powerful images.

The Library of American Broadcasting Scripts Collection is a collection of radio and television scripts gathered from several sources and donations by the original staff of the Library of American Broadcasting. Dating from 1925 to 1991, these scripts are the actual scripts used by radio and television performers.

This is the premier database of TV shows, past and present.

This website has been created by Penn State University and contains links to several TV show websites.

This leading U.S. news network has covered the biggest stories and news events, both in the U.S. and internationally since 1963. Along the way ABC has recorded iconic images and gained many exclusives, leaving us with 50 years of outstanding footage that gets refreshed with new coverage every day. Available to customers outside of North America.

Founded in 1997, the Television Academy Foundation’s Archive of American Television has conducted over 850 oral history interviews (over 4000 hours) with the legends of television. Rebranded in its 20th year as "The Interviews: An Oral History of Television" these conversations chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves. The Interviews continue to produce new oral histories every year. The collection covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history.

This archive can be searched by topic and goes back to the 1960s.

These video archives go back to 2014.

This archive contains news broadcasts from 2001 to the present.

This is a searchable archive of news programs dating from 2009 to the present.

Since 1850, Reuters has experimented, invented, and created content and news solutions to become the world’s leading international news agency.

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.

This website contains descriptions and links to the major television archives and museum sites.

UCLA Film & Television Archive is renowned for its pioneering efforts to rescue, preserve and showcase moving image media, and is dedicated to ensuring that the collective visual memory of our time is explored and enjoyed for generations to come.

From Harvard University. Contains links to primary and secondary sources pertaining to television history.