LibGuides: HIS 3353: Contemporary United States History: Magazines & Journals

Magazine Logos

Magazines & Journals

Life Magazine
Call Number: periodicals, 2nd floor

Life Magazine was a general interest magazine that was published weekly from 1936 to 1972. It was known for its outstanding photographs. Holdings: Nov 23, 1936-May 2000
Newsweek
Call Number: Periodicals, 2nd floor

Newsweek is weekly news magazine, which began publication in 1933.
Holdings: July 1944-Dec 2012
U.S. News and World Report
Call Number: Periodicals, Second Floor
Time Magazine: The Vault
Call Number: online

The Vault contains the front covers of every issue of Time Magazine from
Time Magazine
Call Number: Periodicals, Second Floor

Holdings: January 1934- present

Magazine & Journals

This page contains links to journals and magazines published in the past. Many of these may contain articles that could be useful to mid-century United States history and could be considered primary sources. However, they are more difficult to search through because they cannot be searched all at once; they can only be searched issue by issue.

The Online Books Page | Serials
A serial is a publication that is meant to be continued indefinitely, such as newspapers. magazines, journals, and annuals. This vast archive contains almost 3,000 titles that are available for free on the Internet. Many are from the pre-twentieth century, and for many serials, only partial holdings are available.

Popular Magazine Websites

Flipster
Digital magazine distribution service where users can access popular magazines via a web browser or a custom app on a mobile device.

Magazine Archives

Coloribus | Print ads archive. Newspaper and magazine ads
Coloribus is a thoroughly collected and daily updated advertising archive, the biggest online collection of creative advertising pieces from all over the world. You can narrow your search by region of the world and by date.
The Internet Archive | The Magazine Rack
he Magazine Rack is a collection of digitized magazines and monthly publications.
Xooxle Answers | A Few Magazines | Historical Archives
Xooxle Answers is a professional research service, They have on their website links to free magazine archives.

Individual Magazine Archives

The Ebony Archives
We’ve partnered with Google to offer our entire 65-year archive for free browsing. Each issue appears just as it did at its original time of publication, complete with period advertisements.
Newsweek Magazine Archives
Newsweek is a premier news magazine and website that has been bringing high-quality journalism to readers around the globe for over 80 years. Newsweek provides the latest news, in-depth analysis and ideas about international issues, technology, business, culture and politics.

Databases that search magazines

MasterFILE Complete
Offers a large collection of popular magazines, plus journals, books, primary source documents, more than 2 million photos, maps, flags, and thousands of videos from the Associated Press (AP).
MAS Complete
Designed for high school students, this database contains hundreds of magazines and books. It also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.