HIS 3353: Contemporary United States History: Photographs & Images

Google Images is a search service owned by Google and introduced on July 12, 2001, that allows users to search the Web for image content.[1] The keywords for the image search are based on the filename of the image, the link text pointing to the image, and text adjacent to the image. When Google performs a search, it displays not only images, but allows you to narrow your search further by displaying subtopics at the top of the page that you can click on.

The Library of Congress contains almost a million photos, and drawings, and more than 880,000 are available online.

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images (1.2 million) representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

The New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Collections platform is the primary portal for engaging with our digitized collections and their descriptions, over 922,495 items and counting. While that is a small fraction of the Library's overall holdings, it is representative of the diversity of our vast collections—from books to videos, maps to manuscripts, illustrations to photos, and more.

The Digital Collections platform contains some content that may be harmful or difficult to view. We collect materials from many cultures and time periods to preserve and make available the historical record. As a result, some of the materials presented here may reflect outdated, biased, offensive, and possibly violent views and opinions due to pervasive systemic intolerance. In addition, some Library divisions collect and preserve materials relating to violent or graphic events which are preserved for their historical significance.

Top-quality images from the pages of The New York Times. Readers will enjoy thought-provoking interpretations of current events, international issues and people in the news—as seen through the eyes of some of the world's most creative photographers.

Contains a searchable archive of over 13 million images, and 1,600 new images are added each day, but to use the images you will need to subscribe.