HIS 4399: Spec Topics: Byzantines & Turks: Non text sources--Images

These photographic albums portray the Ottoman Empire during the reign of one of its last sultans, Abdul-Hamid II. They highlight the modernization of numerous aspects of the Ottoman Empire. Most of the places depicted are within the boundaries of modern-day Turkey, but buildings and sites in Iraq, Lebanon, Greece and other countries are also included.

The Library of Congress contains almost a million photos, and drawings, and more than 880,000 are available online.

Explore 729,730 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.

Digitized historic photographs, advertisements, texts & more from Duke's unique 857 library collections, and more than 105,000 items.

Google Images is a search service owned by Google and introduced on July 12, 2001, that allows users to search the Web for image content.[1] The keywords for the image search are based on the filename of the image, the link text pointing to the image, and text adjacent to the image. When Google performs a search, it displays not only images, but allows you to narrow your search further by displaying subtopics at the top of the page that you can click on.

HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. Access to the catalog is open to the general public.

This web site contains access to over 2.5 million books, 438,000 movies, and almost a million audio recordings.

The Library of Congress contains almost a million photos, and drawings, and more than 880,000 are available online.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

This repository contains images of Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation,
The Constitution, Bill of Rights, Louisiana Purchase, Emancipation Proclamation,
Edison's Light Bulb Patent, Zimmermann Telegram, Women's Right to Vote, Social Security Act, FDR's "Day of Infamy" Speech, and other documents

Over 300,000 photographs are in this collection, and almost one thousand are about Texas.