HIS 4399: Spec Topics: Byzantines & Turks: Digital Collections

British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. Some of the content is freely available, while some of the content requires a paid subscription.

Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates. We have produced this short video guide to introduce you to the key features.

The British Library is the national library of the United Kingdom and give access to the world’s most comprehensive research collection. The Library's collection of over 170 million items includes artefacts from every age of written civilisation. The Library has the nation’s archive of printed and digital publications, adding around three million new items to our collection every year.

This website contains access to digitised copies of manuscripts and archives in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents.

Use this website to find and view descriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library, one of the richest collections in the world.

The Text Creation Partnership creates standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books. We transcribe and mark up the text from the millions of page images in ProQuest's Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage's Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex's Evans Early American Imprints. All of the TCP's work will be released the public domain for anyone to use.

The National Archives is the UK government's official archive, containing over 1,000 years of history. We give detailed guidance to government departments and the public sector on information management and advise others about the care of historical archives.

This collection of documents introduces students and teachers to the English Reformation through the original State Papers held at The National Archives. They have been selected and introduced by historian of the period, Dr Natalie Mears of Durham University. Students and teachers can use the documents to develop their own questions and explore their own lines of historical enquiry on different aspects of the Reformation in England across the whole Tudor period, from Henry VIII to Elizabeth I.

This site provides access to the data, setup, and documentation files for the Census and Property Survey for Florentine Domains and the City of Verona in Fifteenth Century Italy, also known as the Catasto study.

The Dartmouth Dante Project (DDP) is a searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia.

The Vatican is the library of the Holy See, located in Vatican City. Formally established in 1475, although it is much older, it is one of the oldest libraries in the world and contains one of the most significant collections of historical texts. It has 75,000 codices from throughout history, as well as 1.1 million printed books, which include some 8,500 incunabula.

Also known as the papal archives, this is is the central repository in the Vatican City for all of the acts promulgated by the Holy See.

Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources.

The Virtual Library of Bibliographic Heritage, is a digital library in which citizens are offered a valuable and growing collection of digital facsimile reproductions of manuscripts, printed books , historical photographs, cartographic materials, scores and other materials that are kept in institutions of memory (archives, library and museums) and are part of the Spanish Bibliographic Heritage.

Documents in Law, History, Diplomacy created by Yale University.

De Re Militari, begun in 1992, is the Society for the Study of Medieval Military History. Here we host many primary sources, articles, dissertations, and resources for the study of military actions, technology, and topics from the fall of Rome to early seventeenth century.

Digital Scriptorium (DS) is a growing consortium of American institutions with collections of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts. As an online image repository, the DS website allows users to verify descriptive metadata with visual evidence of the manuscripts described.

This archive contains links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. You can search by 51 European countries, including the Vatican. Can also by time period.

Explore 53,199,488 artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe.

European History Primary Sources (EHPS) is a joint initiative of the Library and the Department of History and Civilization of the European University Institute in Florence, Italy. It is also part of the WWW Virtual Library History Central Catalogue that is hosted at the EUI. The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. As the number of digital archives on the internet continues to grow, finding and selecting digital repositories becomes increasingly difficult. EHPS strives to fill that gap by listing the most important collections of digital primary sources for the history of Europe, either as a whole or for single countries. EHPS is updated continuously and we invite all users to send us their suggestions for websites to include.

Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, our online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries. Users can cross-search and reuse over 28,627,026 digital items and 175,511,348 bibliographic records.

The principal objective of Europeana Regia is to reconstruct, in the form of a virtual library, the most important European royal collections of documents from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance. This project will provide a means for researchers and the general public to access these rare and precious documents, through platforms such as Gallica, Belgica, Manuscripta Mediaevalia and Europeana, by 2012.

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is located at the History Department of Fordham University, New York. The Project began as a way to access texts that were already available on the Internet. They contain primary sourcebooks that is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in European history. The Medieval Sourcebook contains primary documents on the Renaissance, the Reformation, the age of Exploration and discovery

Contains the full text of all Church Councils from the Council of Nicaea in 325 to the Council of Trent in 1545-63, plus some Renaissance and Reformation texts.

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is located at the History Department of Fordham University, New York. The Project began as a way to access texts that were already available on the Internet. They contain primary sourcebooks that is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in European history. The Modern History Sourcebook contains primary documents on the Protestant and Catholic Reformations, everyday life in early modern western Europe, the concept of absolute government or absolutism,

Contains links to full text sources on the Renaissance, Reformation, European exploration and Absolutism

This site contains links to many of the great books and writings of the past. Divided by historical period.

The Hanover Historical Texts Collection makes available digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses. Contains texts from Ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval Europe,
Early Modern Europe, and America.

The New York Public Library possesses one of the largest and finest collections of medieval and Renaissance illuminated manuscripts in North America, yet its manuscript holdings are scarcely known to scholars, much less to a wide public audience. Medieval and Renaissance illuminated manuscripts are vehicles of the collective memory of western European culture, and provide a material connection between the scribes, illuminators, and patrons who produced these works and the audiences who view them today.

he Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is an independent scholarly initiative currently affiliated with the H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies of Calvin College and Calvin Theological Seminary.

A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. Notice. This website is no longer being updated, but is still a valuable resource

German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present.