HIS 4399: Spec Topics: Byzantines & Turks: Digital Collections

"The Library of Ancient Texts Online is the internet''s most thorough catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in Greek and in translation. This is a site for all with an interest in the Classics. Very many texts from Ancient Greece are available on the world-wide web, at a variety of sites, in a variety of formats, and in a variety of languages.

The following list of online sources of texts in ancient Greek provides access to quite an extensive collection. There are other collections as well. In addition, if there is a particular text you are seeking, an internet search or the links in Wikipaedia articles may lead you to an online source of the text you are seeking.

Created by Tufts University, this site covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond. We have studied many problems over the past two decades, but our current research centers on personalization: organizing what you see to meet your needs.

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is located at the History Department of Fordham University, New York. The Project began as a way to access texts that were already available on the Internet. They contain primary sourcebooks that is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in European history. This page contains translations of Byzantine sources.

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is located at the History Department of Fordham University, New York. The Project began as a way to access texts that were already available on the Internet. They contain primary sourcebooks that is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in European history. The Medieval Sourcebook contains primary documents on the Renaissance, the Reformation, the age of Exploration and discovery. This page is on Byzantine sources.

The Dumbarton Oaks Byzantine Collection comprises more than twelve hundred objects from the fourth to the fifteenth centuries. Among the most important objects are treasures of gold, silver, and bronze vessels used for the celebration of the Eucharist. Other outstanding objects are late Roman and Byzantine jewelry, cloisonné enamels, glass and glyptics, ivory icons, and illuminated manuscripts. Although the collection focuses on Byzantine art, it comprises objects of Greek, Roman, and western Medieval art; works from the Ancient Near East; Pharaonic and Ptolemaic Egypt; and Islamic cultures. The collection also includes mosaics from Antioch and relief sculpture from the late Roman to Middle Byzantine periods, as well as more than two hundred textiles and comprehensive holdings of coins and seals.

Documents in Law, History, Diplomacy created by Yale University.

De Re Militari, begun in 1992, is the Society for the Study of Medieval Military History. Here we host many primary sources, articles, dissertations, and resources for the study of military actions, technology, and topics from the fall of Rome to early seventeenth century.

This archive contains links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. You can search by 51 European countries, including Turkey.

A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. Notice. This website is no longer being updated, but is still a valuable resource

The principal duty of Turkish Statistical Institute (TurkStat) is, to compile data and information, and produce, publish and provide necessary.statistics in the areas the country needs.