Faculty Resources: Arielle Vaverka

Spanning both concept and practice, Kelly offers a holistic assessment framework suitable to a variety of collections and contexts. This manual is applicable as both a training tool for practicing librarians and a useful course text for library students.

This text provides a guide to responsive and responsible planning and assessment.

An ethical attitude to the production, dissemination, storage, access, and retrieval of information and data is necessary to today's information society. Whether theoretical or practical in nature, each chapter in this collection addresses some aspect of information ethics, from its history to the challenges of "fake news" and 3-D printing.

This book addresses the relevance question that libraries face today and explains how libraries can rise to the occasion by implementing strategic marketing and communications planning to tell their stories effectively.

This book focuses on a key problem that occurs in a reference transaction at the very first step: finding out, quickly and efficiently what the user really wants to know. We offer readers a comprehensive way to tackle the problem though a multi-faceted approach that includes the following elements: explanatory text that summarizes key aspects of each topic together with relevant research on the topic; cases and exercises that allow for an interactive approach in learning new skills; and annotated bibliographies for further reading.

This newly revised and updated edition by respected copyright authority Crews offers timely insights and succinct guidance for LIS students, librarians, and educators alike.

Library staff, information managers, academics, learning technologists, researchers and other practitioners who collect, use, create, share or provide access to published and unpublished resources, such as content, data, databases, personal data and software, need to be aware of the legal and licensing issues that might arise from these activities. This fully up-to-date guide adopts a practical hands-on approach to this complex area, which is viewed from both an operational and strategic perspective.The issue of information law compliance is more crucial now than ever with the new, more stringent adoption of the General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR) provisions across the European Union. It's not just about what data you handle, but why you have it, where it is held, and who you are sharing it with. It is therefore a vital component of digital literacy.

Librarians are uniquely positioned to rise to the challenge that artificial intelligence (AI) presents to the field. Libraries and their like have existed for millennia; they progress with society, altering and adapting their services to meet the information needs of their communities.   The Rise of AI collects projects, collaborations, and future uses from academic librarians who have begun to embrace AI in their work. In three parts--User Services, Collections and Discovery, and Toward Future Applications--it explores: machine translation creating incubation spaces robotics combining information literacy initiatives with AI literacy fostering partnerships with other on-campus groups integrating AI technology into collections to enhance discoverability using AI to refine metadata for images, articles, and theses machine learning   The Rise of AI introduces implications and applications of artificial intelligence in academic libraries and hopes to provoke conversations and inspire new ways of engaging with the technology. As the discussion surrounding ethics, bias, and privacy in AI continues to grow, librarians will be called to make informed decisions and position themselves as leaders in this discourse.  

Whether you are just beginning your career or are a seasoned professional, navigating the academic library workplace comes with inherent challenges. You have to understand the official and unofficial mission of the library and the organization of which it is a part, maneuver within the political landscape, mesh with colleagues' personalities and roles, and learn how to do your job well. The 360 Librarian defines a framework for practicing librarianship with critical reflection, mindfulness, and emotional intelligence. It can help you become more purposeful in your daily interactions with students, faculty, and staff, and create pathways to authentic engagement. An engaged library practice consists of continual give-and-take, careful assessment of yourself and others, and full-circle situational awareness.

This guide provides answers about legal considerations emergency responders and managers must face when dealing with natural disasters and catastrophic situations.

Gendered Citizenship outlines how the original conflict over the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) altered the nature of American Citizenship, creating justification for sex-specific treatment and rights that still exist today.