LibGuides: MLA Style: MLA Handbook

MLA Handbook

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language; The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021, Reference Desk (1st Floor)
ISBN: 9781603295628
Publication Date: 2021-05-20
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbookis published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today.

What's New in the 9th edition

expanded, in-depth guidance on how to use the MLA template of core elements to create works-cited-list entries that shows what each core element is, where to find it, and how to style it (MLA 8th has 146 pages, and the MLA 9th has 367 pages, significantly more content)
clarification that element names are not always literal and can apply to a range of situations (e.g., the Publisher element can refer to the publisher of a book or a sponsoring organization like the theater company that put on a play)
a new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations
a new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language
a new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries listed by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more
updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism
a new chapter on formatting a research paper
new, expanded guidelines on spelling, punctuation, capitalization, and more
a new chapter on using notes in MLA style

What's New in The Ninth Edition of the MLA Handbook (Spring 2021)

MLA Style Center Webpage

MLA Style Center
The MLA Style Center, published by the Modern Language Association, is the only authorized Web site about MLA style. This free, evolving resource is designed as a companion to the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.
Works Cited: A Quick Guide
Sample Papers in MLA Style
These are winning essays of the MLA Student Essay Contest! These winning essays were selected as examples of excellent student writing that use MLA style for citing sources. Essays were lightly edited.

Modern Language Association

Modern Language Association
Founded in 1883, the Modern Language Association of America has worked for more than a century to strengthen the study and teaching of languages and literature

Documentation Remains a Core Academic Principle

The 9th edition continues a new approach that began with the 8th edition, to thinking about MLA Style, one centered not on a source's publication format but rather on the elements common most sources and on the means of flexibly combining those elements to create appropriate documentation for any source.