1-Mapped Pages: Searching Strategies

West Library Catalog

Using this search bar or the Search Everything tab on westlibrary.txwes.edu allows you to search in almost all of the Library's databases, including the West Library catalog at the same time! (search will navigate away from page).

Why Search One Database at a Time When You Can Search Everything at Once?

1. You may miss some important articles if you search everything at once
2. You will have less articles to sift through 
3. Individual Databases have extra features not available in Search Everything

Source: "Online Research: Tips for Effective Search Strategies" by Sarah Clark, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

1. When searching catalogs, databases, the internet, etc. use Boolean Operators ("AND", "OR", "NOT") to help you broaden or narrow your search results. Place these operators in between your keywords to suit your search needs. 

   • "AND" - looks for both search terms​

   • "OR" -   looks for similar search terms​

   • "NOT"-  excludes unhelpful information​

2. Use truncation symbols and quotation marks.

   • Truncation symbols (usually ? or *) are used in searches to capture all forms of words.

     • Example: teach* will retrieve results for teach, teacher, teachers, teaching.

   • Quotation marks pulls results for an exact phrase. 

     • Example: Searching "United States" AND social media AND teenagers AND impact will only pull up results for United States

3. Keep your search simple using basic words, remove filler words (the, of, what, etc.), and do not use full sentences. 

4. Use a variety of search words and try different searches to find different results. Use a thesaurus to look up similar terms to your initial search.

   • Example: 
     social media impact teenagers
     affects social media teenagers
     social media youth influence
     internet adolescents alter

Use these various search tools to find information:

Books, Articles, Websites, Refence Books, eBooks, Videos

Searching Keywords

1. FIRST:  Try broad search words relating to your topic, such as:

2. NEXT:  Try a new search.  Add words to narrow your search, such as:

• Example searches:
  Apache religion
  Apache languages
  Indians of North America religion
  Indians of North America languages
  Native American first contact

3. FINALLY:  Brainstorm synonyms or related terms for search words

• Example: religion - spirituality, spirit, worship, beliefs, sacred, holy, god, deity, heaven, afterlife, ritual, ceremony
• Example searches:
  • Apache spirituality
  • Apache beliefs
  • Indians of North America worship

Source: Holman Library at Green River College. (2023, February 7). Search Strategies. 

Click on this image to go to EBSCO Discovery Service (Search Everything)

After doing a search, on the results page on the left side, find where it says source types.   Under Source types, you can limit your search to Primary Source documents.

Why Use Search Everything (EBSCO Discovery Service)?

Using EBSCO Discovery Service, you can search in almost all of the Library's databases, including the West Library catalog at the same time!

The West Library's book collections are organized using the Library of Congress Classification System. Below are the call numbers for sections:

• A= General Works
  • General Encyclopedias, Reference books, etc.
• B= Philosophy
  • Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, etc.
• C= Auxiliary Sciences of History
  • Archaeology, Archives, Genealogy, etc.
• D= World History
  • Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc. 
• E-F= History of the Americas
  • America, United States (state and local), Latin America, Dutch America, etc.
• G= Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
  • Folklore, Oceanography, Leisure, etc.
• H= Social Sciences
  • Commerce, Finance, Sociology, Communities, Socialism, etc.
• J= Political Science
  • Political theory, Local government, Colonies and colonization, International laws, etc.
• K= Law
  • Religious law, History of canon law, Law of nations, etc. 
• L= Education
  • Theory and practice, Schools and colleges, Textbooks, etc.
• M= Music
  • Scores, Musical instruction, Literature on music, etc.
• N= Fine Arts
  • Architecture, Painting, Print media, etc. 
• P= Language, Literature
  • Philosophy and linguistics, Classical languages/literature, General and comparative literature, etc. 
• Q= Science
  • Mathematics, Botany, Zoology, Astronomy, etc.
• R= Medicine
  • Internal medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, etc. 
• S= Agriculture
  • Forestry, Animal culture, Plant culture, Hunting sports, etc.
• T= Technology
  • Engineering, Mining, Photography, etc. 
• U= Military Science
  • Infantry, Cavalry, Military administration
• V= Naval Science
  • Naval organization, Naval administration, Naval architecture, Marines, etc. 
• Z= Bibliography, Library Science
  • Book industries and trade, Information resources, etc.