LibGuides: 1-Mapped Pages: Turabian

Turabian Style

Turabian Citation Style The Chicago Style for Students and Researchers, 8th edition, by Kate Turabian

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); Joseph Bizup (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by)
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018
ISBN: 9780226430577
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.

This is a general guide to the Turabian notes-bibliography style of citation, used most often by the History and Music Departments. It is intended to help you understand the kind of information you should be keeping track of as you research and to help you begin to create you bibliography. There are a number of other rules, suggestions, and allowances for creating your bibliography. Please consult the Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 8th ed., which is located behind the Circulation Desk at the West Library. You can also ask one of the librarians (reference@txwes.edu) or your professor if you have any questions or need help.

Internal Citations

There are several reasons to include a citation in your paper. These include both direct quotes and references to information found within your sources. You cite your sources as footnotes. Number each citation consecutively, using only one number per note. You may include more than one source in a single note. Put the number after a quotation mark or period.
To insert a footnote, click the section of your paper where you want to insert your number, then hit Alt+Ctrl+F.

Preparing your Bibliography •

A bibliography should be a list of each source you cited within your notes (unless otherwise noted), listed alphabetically by author.
Use a hanging indent to separate citations clearly. The first line of each entry is flush with the margin. Following lines are indented. You can do this in Microsoft Word by highlighting your works cited page, going to Format, Paragraph, then selecting “Hanging” from the list of Special Indentations.

Preparing your Citations This version of the Turabian style uses two forms of citation: the footnote and the bibliography. As you cite information, you provide a footnote at the bottom of that page. You then collect all your citations at the end of your document in a bibliography.

Examples

Books (Turabian: 17.1) Footnote:  Give the author’s name as it appears on the title page.  List the complete book title, including subtitle, italicized.  Include the city of publication, the state of publication (if published in the US and the state isn’t obvious or mentioned in the publisher’s name), name of publisher, and year of publication.  Include the pages referenced (guidelines in section 23.2.4). 1. Philipp Ziesche, Cosmopolitan Patriots: Americans in Paris in the Age of Revolution (Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2010), 105-8. Bibliography: Ziesche, Philipp. Cosmopolitan Patriots: Americans in Paris in the Age of Revolution. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2010. For special situations, including foreign titles, editors as authors, or special volumes, see the Turabian guide (section 17). For special types of books, such as classic works, sacred texts, or reference works, see the Turabian guide (section 17.5).