The four databases on this page focus solely on journals and magazines on the subject of psychology.
APA PsycARTICLES
With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, APA PsycARTICLES includes all American Psychological Association journals and full-text for every journal.
It also contains a thesaurus, with can be useful in finding related terms. This is not available in all databases
| Database facts | Number | Percent of total |
|---|---|---|
| Total Number of publications indexed | 122 | 100.0 |
| Number of full text titles | 122 | 100.0 |
| Number of APA Journals | 35 | 28.7 |
| Number of Educational Publication Foundation Journals (This is APA's specialty imprint, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), publishes APA Division and other society journals that are predominately psychological in content.) |
64 | 52.5 |
| Number of Canadian Psychological Association Journals | 3 | 2.5 |
| Number of Hogrefe Publishing Group Journals | 19 | 15.6 |
| Number of National Institute of Mental Health Journals | 1 | 0.8 |
| Number of journals on the subject of psychology | 122 | 100.0 |
What are index terms?
Index terms are controlled vocabulary terms used in database records to make searching easier and more successful. By standardizing the words or phrases used to represent concepts, you don't need to try and figure out all the ways different authors could refer to the same concept. Each record in APA's databases contains controlled vocabulary terms from the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to hundreds of full-text journals that cover topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics psychiatry & psychology mental processes anthropology. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
| Database facts | Number | Percent of total |
|---|---|---|
| Total Number of publications indexed | 601 | 100.0 |
| Number of full text titles | 472 | 78.0 |
| Number of Journals | 577 | 96 |
| Number of Magazines | 24 | 4 |
| Number of Duplicate Journals with PsycARTICLES | 3 | 0.05 |
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.