LibGuides: MFT 8321 : Theory Building in Family Sciences: Other Databases

Why Search One Database at a time?

Why Search One Database at a Time When You Can Search Everything at Once?

You may miss some important articles if you search everything at once
You will have less articles to sift through
Individual Databases have extra features not available in Search Everything

Searching Tip

When doing research in databases, you often need to perform several searches trying different combinations of terms before coming up with a list of good results.

Other Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers many subjects found at colleges and universities. Contains articles from thousands of journals, magazines, news sources, and videos from the Associated Press.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers journals, ebooks, and primary source collections, allowing researchers to retrieve high-resolution scanned images as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The resources archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from journals and magazines, plus books and conference papers on all aspects of sociology. The full text in the title means that for some the resources, the entire resource in available in the database.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains journal and magazine articles, continuing education units (CEUs) articles, plus dissertations on nursing and related subjects.