LibGuides: HIS 3348: The U.S. as a World Power: Books

Books

Economic benefits of prohibition. by Irving Fisher.
Call Number: Statement made before the United States Senate Judiciary Subcommittee on Prohibition, April, 1926.

Publication Date: 1926
The flight of Captain Charles A. Lindbergh from New York to Paris, May 20-21, 1927. As comp. from the official records of the Department of State. by Washington, Govt. Print. Off.
Publication Date: 1927

On cover: The flight of Captain Charles A. Lindbergh from New York to Paris. May 20-21, 1927. Presented by the secretary of state, Frank B. Kellogg, June 11, 1927, to Captain Lindbergh in commemoration of his epochal achievement.
Prohibition and Christianity; and other paradoxes of the American spirit, by Erskine, John
Call Number: E169.1 .E13

Publication Date: 1927
The Prohibition question viewed from the economic and moral standpoint. by Richard H. Edmonds, editor
Publication Date: 1922

Annual report of the Director of the Civilian Conservation Corps. by Civilian Conservation Corps (U.S.)
Publication Date: 1938-1943
Annual report of the Tennessee Valley Authority. by Tennessee Valley Authority.
Publication Date: 1933-1987,1992-1995
Final Report on the WPA Program, 1935-1943 by Federal Works Agency
Publication Date: 1947
Hearings by United States
Publication Date: 1934-1969

This webpage is a record in HathiTrust and contains various hearings of Congress about many different things from 1934 to 1969
Report on progress of the WPA program by United States.
Publication Date: 1935-1942
The great depression and beyond by Graves, Lloyd Milner
Publication Date: 1932

Investigation of the Pearl harbor attack. by United States.
Publication Date: 1946

This work contains all letters and documents relating to the Texas Revolution written between January 1, 1835 and the inaugural of Sam Houston as President of the Republic of Texas on October 22, 1836, arranged in chronological order in ten volumes. Some letters are reproduced in their entirety, while other contain the parts of the letter that pertain to political or military affairs.
Report to Congress on lend-lease operations
Publication Date: no 1-25 1941-1948

U.S. Government information policies and practices : the Pentagon Papers : hearings before a subcommittee of the Committee on Government Operations, House of Representatives, Ninety-second Congress, first [and second] session[s].
Publication Date: 1972 9 volumes
The Pentagon Papers by United States, Department of Defense Staff
Call Number: E183.8.V5 P42

ISBN: 0807005266

Publication Date: 1971-01-01
The Gulf of Tonkin, the 1964 incidents : supplementary documents to February 20, 1968, hearing with Secretary of Defense, Robert S. McNamara / Committee on Foreign Defense, Roberth S. McNamara.
Publication Date: 1968

Final report of the Independent Counsel for Iran/Contra Matters by Lawrence E. Walsh, Independent Counsel
Publication Date: 1993 3 vols

Online Book Catalogs/Archives

In the past twenty years, there have been a number of projects where books have been digitized and made available through online archive databases. The book archives/databases below can be searched by subject, title and author. Theses book databases make many more books available to the researcher, and also many primary source books/documents.

Google Books
Use to find books either in the West Library or at other libraries. Books published before 1923 is usually available in their entirety for free. Google Books has scanned more than 25 million books from major libraries. It estimates that there are 130 million books in the world, and the intention it to scan all of them.
Internet Archive
This web site contains access to over 2.5 million books, 438,000 movies, and almost a million audio recordings.
The Online Books Page
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books (about 1 million) that are freely readable over the Internet. The Online Books Page was founded, and is edited, by John Mark Ockerbloom, He is a digital library planner and researcher at the University of Pennsylvania. He is solely responsible for the content of the site. The site is hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries, who provide the server, disk space, and network bandwidth for the site.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. This digital library currently has: 7,839,381 total volumes, 4,406,107 book titles and 195,241 serial titles.