LibGuides: HIS 4362: History of the Old South: Digital Collections

Primary Sources Databases

Sabin Americana 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

Slavery & Anti-Slavery

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University; these collections allow for unparalleled depth and breadth of content.
Slavery in America and the World: History Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This collection contains all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. In addition, there are pamphlets and books with differing views about slavery.

National Archives

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper that preserves and maintains the U.S. government's collection of documents, and makes them available for research. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. The National Archives is the U.S. Government’s collection of documents that records important events in American history.