LibGuides: History: Databases

Paper Periodical Indices

You can find journal and magazine articles by subject by using a tool called a Periodical Index, or Database. Before there were journal databases, there were paper journal indexes. While they are harder to use than the journal databases, they index the journals and magazines of the past that could still be useful to find articles on your topic.

Humanities Index
Call Number: Located on 2nd floor
An Index of selected periodicals (345) in the subjects of archology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and related subjects.
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature
Call Number: Located on 2nd FLoor
Publication Date: 1982-2007
This is a cummulative author-subject index to about 275 popular interest magazines, including American History, Arizona Highways, Astronomy, Atlantic Monthly, Better Homes and Garden, Christianity Today, D (Dallas), Jet, Maclean's. New Republic, Newsweek, Pyshcology Today, Reader's Digest and Time.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Call Number: Located on 2nd floor
Publication Date: 1802-1906
Indexes 216 general periodicals This index was begun by William Frederick Poole and first published in 1853, with later editions and supplements that brought the coverage of periodicals from 1802 to 1906.

Online Periodical Indexes

Databases contain large amounts of data. The data can be in the form of a listing of names, addresses, citations to journals and magazines, or many other kinds of information. Journal databases are the evolution of the print periodical indices into the digital world, where they are much easier to use.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to humanities and social sciences magazine and journal articles published between 1907 and 1984.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles interviews obituaries and original works of fiction drama poetry and much more.Content Includes:

(see the Journal & History Databases tabs for links to more individual databases)

Magazine and Journal Databases

These four websites contain digitized copies of many different magazines and journals, mainly from the 18th and 19th centuries. They are different from the journal databases in that they cannot be searched by topic, but you can browse individual issues.

19th Century Periodicals
This is a huge list of 19th century periodicals that are available online for free. The list has been put together by Elizabeth Clarke at the James A. Cannavino Library at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, N
The Internet Library of Early Journals
ILEJ, the "Internet Library of Early Journals" was a joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, conducted under the auspices of the eLib (Electronic Libraries) Programme. It aimed to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data. The project finished in 1999, and no additional material will be added. This archive contains the Annual Register (1758-1778), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-1863), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-1750), Notes and Queries (1849-1869), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-1777) and The Builder (1843-1852).
Making of America Journals
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books with 19th century imprints.
Online Books Page--Serials
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all. The Online Books Page was founded, and is edited, by John Mark Ockerbloom, He is a digital library planner and researcher at the University of Pennsylvania. He is solely responsible for the content of the site.

Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the exclusive digital archive for leading newspapers that gives users ready access to the full content of each paper starting from the very first issues. Users can search and view article-level images and full page images page through issues cross-search all historical newspapers in this program and enjoy unparalleled digital access to The New York Times The Wall Street Journal and The Christian Science Monitor.