Finance

The IMF's responsibilities: The IMF's primary purpose is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system—the system of exchange rates and international payments that enables countries (and their citizens) to transact with each other. The Fund's mandate was updated in 2012 to include all macroeconomic and financial sector issues that bear on global stability.

This website contains the World Economic Outlook , the International Financial Statistics (annual; pdf) Global Financial Stability Report (Oct 2014; pdf) Fiscal Monitor (annual; pdf) Regional Economic Outlooks --Asia and Pacific Economic OutlookMiddle East and Central Asia Economic Outlook,Sub-Saharan Africa Economic Outlook,, Western Hemisphere Economic Outlook, Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe Economic Outlook.

The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. The WEO is released in April and September/October each year.

The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the ordinary sense but a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development. The World Bank Group comprises five institutions managed by their member countries.

Economy snapshots: Business cost indicators comparable across 189 economies. Topics include starting a business in international economies, hiring and firing employees, registering property, getting credit, protecting investors, enforcing contracts, and closing a business.

The Microdata Library facilitates access to data collected through sample surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities. These 'microdata' sets may also originate from population, housing or agricultural censuses or through an administrative data collection processes. The Library contains supporting documentation from censuses and surveys conducted or supported by the World Bank, as well as by other international organizations, statistical agencies and other agencies in low and middle-income countries.

Data and statistics provided by national governments. Access many data reports compiled by the World Bank such as World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Global Economic Monitor, and African Development Indicators.

Portal for European statistics.

This government website provides links to the principal federal statistical agencies, plus international statistical organizations, and national statistical agencies of other countries.

Links to national statistics agencies, organized alphabetically by country.

The ERS International Macroeconomic Data Set provides historical and projected data for 189 countries that account for more than 99 percent of the world economy. These macroeconomic data and projections are assembled explicitly to serve as underlying assumptions for the annually updated USDA agricultural supply and demand projections, which provide a 10-year outlook on U.S. and global agriculture. The macroeconomic projections describe the long-term scenario that is used as a benchmark for analyzing the impacts of alternative scenarios and macroeconomic shocks. The projections assume there are no changes in policy and abstract from business cycle effects. Historical data are available for real (inflation-adjusted) gross domestic product (GDP), inflation, population, and real exchange rates from 1969 to the most recent available year, and each variable is projected forward to 2030.

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. Since its foundation, the United Nations System has been collecting statistical information from member states on a variety of topics. The information thus collected constitutes a considerable information asset of the organization.

The WTO provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its data-bases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.

Guide provides various sources of foreign trade statistics and informs users of the content and general arrangement of the data.