LibGuides: EDU 6305 : Psychosocial Dimensions in Education: Books

Four Ways to Find and Use Books

ABE Books
Amazon
If borrowing is not an option, or it will take too long to borrow from another library, can can search Amazon to purchase a copy of a needed book.
Interlibrary Loan
This service allows you to borrow from another library. You submit the request for a book or journal article, and we'll find a library that has the requested item, ask them to send a copy to us, and then we'll notify you when the item is available. Use InterLibrary Loan after you have found books on WorldCat, or journal articles that we don't have.
Library Catalog
The Texas Wesleyan University Library catalog allows you to search through the print books that are located on the third floor. You can also access many electronic books through the catalog.
WorldCat
Worldcat is a world catalog because it allows you to search the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide Worldcat has over 2 billion items to search. Use WorldCat if you are unable to find any books on your topic in the West Library

General Books on Education

Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: LB15 .E47 2003 v.1 - 8 2nd ed.
ISBN: 002865594X
Publication Date: 2002-11-14
Handbook of Research in Education Finance and Policy by Helen F. Ladd (Editor); Edward B. Fiske (Editor); Association for Education Finance and Policy Staff (Editor)
Call Number: LB2824 .H36 2008
ISBN: 9780805861457
Publication Date: 2007-11-26
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education by James A. Banks (Editor); Cherry A. McGee Banks (Editor)
Call Number: LC1099.3 .H35 1995
ISBN: 0028957970
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Key Ideas in Educational Research by David Scott; Marlene Morrison
Call Number: LB1028 .S338 2006
ISBN: 9780826479907
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Online Catalogs and Archives

Google Books
Use to find books either in the West Library or at other libraries. Books published before 1923 is usually available in their entirety for free. Google Books has scanned more than 25 million books from major libraries. It estimates that there are 130 million books in the world, and the intention it to scan all of them.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
The Internet Archive
This web site began by archiving web pages, and has twenty years of web history. It now contains access to 279 billion archived web pages. There are also over 11 million books and texts, 4 million audio recordings, 3 million videos (including 1 million Television News programs).
National Academies Press--Medicine and Health
The Online Books Page
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books (about 1 million) that are freely readable over the Internet. The Online Books Page was founded, and is edited, by John Mark Ockerbloom, He is a digital library planner and researcher at the University of Pennsylvania. He is solely responsible for the content of the site. The site is hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries, who provide the server, disk space, and network bandwidth for the site.

Books

Why use these: Use books for broad information about a topic, such as historical background, biographical information, or to fully understand the context of a specific research topic. All books listed are in the General Collection, which is on the Third Floor of the library. In addition to these books, you can search the library's catalog for your topic of interest. You may also browse the relevant sections of the library.

The West Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange the books in the library. Here is where education falls in this classification system:

Education	Psychology
L: Education	BF 1-990 Psychology
LA History of Education	BF501-505. Motivation
LB Theory and Practice of Education	BF712-724.85Developmental Psychology
LC: Special Aspects of Education	BF725-727Class Psychology