MKT 4311 Marketing Research: Websites & Databases

The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.

The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) empowers the media and marketing industries to thrive in the digital economy. Its membership is comprised of more than 650 leading media and technology companies that are responsible for selling, delivering, and optimizing digital advertising or marketing campaigns. The trade group fields critical research on interactive advertising, while also educating brands, agencies, and the wider business community on the importance of digital marketing.

MPA – The Association of Magazine Media is the primary advocate and voice for the magazine media industry, driving thought leadership and game-changing strategies to promote the medium’s vitality, increase revenues and grow market share. Established in 1919, MPA represents 150 domestic, associate and international members. MPA is headquartered in New York City, with a government affairs office in Washington, DC. Also contains The Magazine Media Factbook, which features noteworthy research, useful statistics and compelling facts that articulate how magazine media is unique and its effectiveness compared to other media, is also available here.

Nielsen is a global measurement and data analytics company that provides the most complete and trusted view available of consumers and markets worldwide. Our approach marries proprietary Nielsen data with other data sources to help clients around the world understand what's happening now, what's happening next, and how to best act on this knowledge. Nielsen produces reports, such as the Local Watch Report, Commercial Trends in Sports, Total Consumer Report, reports on health and wellness, food, beauty, and other reports.

The Radio Advertising Bureau serves more than 6,000 member Radio stations in the U.S. and over 1,000 member networks, representative firms, broadcast vendors, and international organizations. RAB leads and participates in educational, research, sales, and advocacy programs that promote and advance Radio as a primary advertising medium.

TVB is the not-for-profit trade association representing America’s $21 billion local broadcast television industry. Its members include over 800 individual television stations, television broadcast groups, advertising sales reps, syndicators, international broadcasters and associate members. TVB actively promotes local media marketing solutions to the advertising community and works to develop advertising dollars for the medium’s multiple platforms, including on-air, online and mobile. TVB provides a diverse variety of tools and resources, including its website, to support its members and to help advertisers make the best use of local ad dollars.

The Video Advertising Bureau is an advocacy group dedicated to providing advertisers and their agencies with the most current, complete and actionable media insights on the expanding world of premium, multiscreen video content.

The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.

This page features all the files containing Vintage 2018 county population totals and components of change.

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.

The 2015 E-Stats provides estimates of e-commerce activity in key sectors of the U.S. economy for 2015, revises previously released estimates for 2014 and earlier, and places these estimates in historical context. Underlying data are collected in four separate surveys of manufacturing, wholesale, service, and retail businesses.

The Vehicle Technologies Market Report details the major trends in U.S. light-duty vehicle and medium/heavy truck markets. This report is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy's Vehicle Technologies Office, and, in accord with its mission, pays special attention to the progress of high-efficiency and alternative-fuel technologies.

ThomasNet has three components (1) ThomasNetwork is North America's largest and most active B2B buyers and industrial/commercial suppliers. (2) Thomas Insights provides daily actionable information, ideas, and news that can help you thrive in the evolving digital industrial economy. (3) Thomas Marketing helps you to land the customers you need by connecting with buyers and engineers throughout every stage of the industrial buying process. Contains 500,000 detailed supplier profiles, 300,000 articles and whitepapers, 6 million industrial products, and 10 million 2D and 3D CAD drawings.

The Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) program produces employment and wage estimates annually for over 800 occupations. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual states, and for metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available.

BLS wage data are available by occupation for the nation, regions, states, and many metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas.

CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.

Every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau collects extensive statistics about businesses that are essential to understanding the American economy. This official count, better known as the Economic Census, serves as the foundation for the measurement of U.S. businesses and their economic impact. As part of the Census Bureau’s mission to provide timely information on the health of the U.S. economy, this “business” census serves as the most extensive collection of data related to business activity. Nearly 4 million businesses, large, medium and small, covering most industries and all geographic areas of the United States will receive surveys tailored to their primary business activity.

The Advance Monthly and Monthly Retail Trade Surveys (MARTS and MRTS), the Annual Retail Trade Survey (ARTS), and the Quarterly E-Commerce Report work together to produce the most comprehensive data available on retail economic activity in the United States. More detailed descriptions of these programs can be found by choosing one of the links to the left or by visiting the ARTS page.

The International Energy Agency’s annual energy projections. Based on scenarios, these projections compare what will happen if policies remain the same and what might happen if policies were improved. Each edition tends to have a particular geographical or policy focus.

Bureau of Labor Statistics--The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.

The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, databases, news releases, reports, and public use microdata files.

Bureau of Economic Analysis is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. It has data on personal income and outlays, consumer spending, corporate profits, and many other datasets or an economic nature on the national, international and regional level.

Contains data on the following: Index of Consumer Sentimen; Current Economic Conditions; Index of Consumer Expectations; Index Components
Personal Finances—Current; Personal Finances—Expected; Economic Outlook—12 Months; Economic Outlook—5 Years; Buying Conditions—Durables

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. NAICS: The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) was established in 1997 to replace the SIC system. This system was developed with Canada and Mexico and establishes a North American Standard classification system. However, this classification system hasn’t replaced SIC as anticipated.

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system was created in the 1930’s to classify establishments by the type of activity in which they are primarily engaged. The SIC system has not been updated since 1987, however, it is still widely used by marketing companies and is the most popular industry classification system.

The resource guides on this site provide sources for industry information, research, and analysis for more than 400 industries. Individual guides for each of these industries list resources available from trade associations, industry publications, research firms, and other sources which address subjects such as industry analysis, trends, statistics, and forecasts, financial ratios and benchmarking data, compensation and salary surveys, and business valuation resources.

You can use Business Source Complete to find Industry information. The Business Source Complete database contains reports on many different industries. Follow these steps to start searching for industry reports:

1. Access Business Source Complete.
2. Type the name of an industry in the first search box.
3. Below the search fields, under the Document Type filter menu, click on Industry Report.