LibGuides: THA 3399: Design for the Theatre: Databases

Databases

Databases contain large amounts of data. The data can be in the form of a listing of names, addresses, citations to journals and magazines, or many other kinds of information. Journal databases are the evolution of the print periodical indices into the digital world, where they are much easier to use.

Advantages of Databases

They index more resources
They index a wider date range of resources
You can perform more complex searches in databases

(see the Individual Databases tab for links to individual databases)

Databases Related to Theatre Arts

Academic Video Online
Contains thousands of videos, including documentaries, educational films, and news clips in many subject areas.
Ambrose Video
Ambrose Video has over 700 Educational videos in its collection. The collection also includes BBC Classics such as all 37 BBC Shakespeare Plays, James Burkes' Connections, Ascent of Man, and more.
Digital Theatre Plus
600+ theatre productions and educational resources.
Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson)
Contains citations to essays and articles on the humanities and social sciences. These essays are found in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Contains citations to essays and articles on the humanities and social sciences that are found in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published back as far as 1900 in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Provides indexing to humanities and social sciences magazine and journal articles published between 1907 and 1984.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
This database provides access to articles journals and magazines in the humanities. The term full text in the title indicates that for some articles, the entire article in available within this database.
Mason Johnson Theatre Collection
The collection includes photographs, playbills, programs, posters, audio and video recordings, along with other memorabilia relating to Mason Johnson’s time at Texas Wesleyan College between 1956 and 1985. An emphasis is placed on the annual spring musicals, including “Brigadoon” (1956), “Damn Yankees” (1961), and “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying (1968).”
This project was made possible through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Texas State Library and Archives Commission under the provisions of the Library Services and technology Act. (2017)
Play Index (H.W. Wilson)
An index of plays found in books, including classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. This database includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.