LibGuides: HIS 3380: Workshop in Historical Methods: Research Starter

Credo Reference

Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an online platform for reference materials It contains 3.6 million articles from 1,220 publications such as encyclopedias and dictionaries.
You can search by major topic, such as history, or just type in the term that you wish to search for.

World History

Encyclopedia of World History
Call Number: D21 .E577 1998
ISBN: 0198602235
Publication Date: 1999-04-08
The Encyclopedia of world history : ancient, medieval, and modern, chronologically arranged by Peter N. Stearns (Editor); William L. Langer
Call Number: D21 .E578 2001, Reference (1st Floor)
ISBN: 9780395652374
Publication Date: 2001-09-24

American History

Dictionary of American History by Robert H. Ferrell (Editor); Joan Hoff (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E 174 D52 1976 V1 - 8; 2 volume supplement 1996
ISBN: 0684195798
Publication Date: 1996-05-01
Contains over 6,000 articles on all aspects of American History.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Jack Salzman (Editor); David L. Smith (Editor); Cornel West (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 1996 v.1 - 5
ISBN: 0028973453
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Scribners Reference Staff
Call Number: Ref. E 169.1.E624 2001
ISBN: 0684805618
Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by David S. Heidler (Editor); Jeanne T. Heidler (Editor); David J. Coles (Editor); Gary W. Gallagher (Editor); James M. McPherson; Mark E. Neeley (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E 468.E53 2000
ISBN: 1576070662
Publication Date: 2000-12-13
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)
Call Number: Ref DS 557.7.E53 1998 3 vols
ISBN: 0874369835
Publication Date: 1998-09-18
Encyclopedia of U. S. Foreign Relations by Bruce W. Jentleson (Editor); Thomas G. Paterson (Editor); Nicholas X. Rizopoulos (Editor)
Call Number: E 183.7 >E53 1997 V1 - V4
ISBN: 0195110552
Publication Date: 1997-03-13
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History by Timothy J. Lynch (Editor); Paul S. Boyer (Editor); David Milne; Christopher Nichols
Call Number: E181 .O95 2013
ISBN: 9780199759255
Publication Date: 2013-01-08

Cambridge Histories

The Cambridge Ancient History by Edwards, I. E. S. (Iorwerth Eiddon Stephen)
Call Number: D57 .C252
ISBN: 9780521263351
Publication Date: 1970-2005
The Cambridge History of Iran by Ilya Gershevitch (Editor); Stanley I. Grossman (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DS 272 C34 v.1 -v.2
ISBN: 0521200911
Publication Date: 1985-06-06
The Cambridge History of Russia by Maureen Perrie (Editor)
Call Number: DK43 .C35 2006
ISBN: 9780521812276
Publication Date: 2006-09-14
The New Cambridge Modern History by C. L. Mowat (Editor)
Call Number: D208 .N4
ISBN: 0521045517
Publication Date: 1957-1970
The New Cambridge Medieval History by Rosamond McKitterick (Editor, Contribution by)
Call Number: D117 .C3
ISBN: 9780521362924
Publication Date: 1995-09-14
The Cambridge history of the British Empire. by Walker, Eric A. 1886-1976, (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DA16 .C252 1963 v.8
Publication Date: 1963
The Cambridge History of Africa by Andrew Roberts (Editor); J. D. Fage (Contribution by); Roland Oliver (Contribution by)
Call Number: DT20 .C28
ISBN: 0521225051
Publication Date: 1986-07-24

European History

Encyclopedia of European Social History: From 1350 to 2000 by Peter N. Stearns (Editor)
Call Number: CB361 .E2 1999
ISBN: 0684805774
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
The Encyclopedia of European Social History covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by Grendler, Paul F. (Paul Frederick), 1936-
Call Number: CB361 .E2 1999
ISBN: 0684805146
Publication Date: 1999-12-17
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DE 5 .O95 2010
ISBN: 9780195170726
Publication Date: 2009-12-31
Tudor England: An Encyclopedia by Arthur F. Kinney (Editor); David W. Swain (Editor); Eugene D. Hill (Editor); William A. Long (Editor)
Call Number: Ref DA315 .K56 2001
ISBN: 0815307934
Publication Date: 2000-11-17

Middle East

The Persian Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia by Mehrdad Kia
Call Number: Ref. DS 275.K5 2016
ISBN: 9781610693905
Publication Date: 2016-06-27

Africa

African Kingdoms: An Encyclopedia of Empires and Civilizations by Saheed Aderinto (Editor)
Call Number: DT 25.A646 2017
ISBN: 9781610695794
Publication Date: 2017-08-24

Latin America

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Barbara A. Tenenbaum (Editor); Georgette M. Dorn (Editor)
Call Number: F1406 .E53 1996
ISBN: 9780684192536
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
The Ottoman Empire : A Historical Encyclopedia by Mehrdad Kia
Call Number: Ref. DR 485.K54 2017
ISBN: 9781610693882
Publication Date: 2017-06-15
The Spanish empire : a historical encyclopedia by H. Micheal Tarver (Editor); Carolyn Neel; Emily Slape (Editor)
Call Number: Call Number: Ref. JV4011 .S63 2016 V. 1 - 2
ISBN: 9781610694216
Publication Date: 2016-07-25

Catholic Encyclopedia

New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America Staff
Call Number: Ref. BX841 .N44 1967 v.1 - v. 17
ISBN: 007010235X
Publication Date: 1989-01-01

Asia

Encyclopedia of Modern China by David Pong editor in chief
Call Number: Ref. DS 755.E53 2009
ISBN: 9780684315669
Publication Date: 2009-07-31