In this system, citations are provided in the notes (either footnotes or endnotes) and the bibliography.
A superscript number is placed at the end of the sentence with the quoted, paraphrased, or summarized information.
Gies refers to as “Slow Water”: “The natural systems we are destroying could be our salvation.”1
That number will correspond to a note with the same number.
1. Erica Gies, Water Always Wins: Thriving in an Age of Drought and Deluge (University of Chicago Press, 2022), 8, 27.
From Chicago Manual of Style 18th ed., Ch.13.18: Notes and bibliography—an overview
If the bibliography includes every work cited in the paper, then the notes do not need to include the citation information in full, only a shortened version is needed.
If there is no bibliography or only some works are cited in the bibliography, then full citations must be given in the note at the first mention of that work. Any following citations for that same work can be shortened. Below is an example of a shortened citation.
2. Gies, Water Always Wins, 209–10.
In the bibliography, the name of the first author is inverted, and the main elements are separated by periods.
Gies, Erica. Water Always Wins: Thriving in an Age of Drought and Deluge. University of Chicago Press, 2022.
From Chicago Manual of Style 18th ed., Ch.13.18: Notes and bibliography—an overview
Citations for journals typically include the volume and issue number and year of publication. The volume number follows the italicized journal title. The issue number follows the volume number, separated by a comma and preceded by "no". The issue number should be recorded even if pagination is continuous across issues in each volume.
The year appears in parentheses after the volume and issue data. A month or season need not be included in addition to the year for journals that include both a volume and an issue number.
Specific page ranges are included in the notes. The page range for the article is included in the bibliography. In the full citation, page numbers follow a colon.
Online articles should include a DOI or URL, preferably a DOI.
Below are examples of a full citation in a note, a shortened citation, and a full bibliographic citation.
1. Hyeyoung Kwon, “Inclusion Work: Children of Immigrants Claiming Membership in Everyday Life,” American Journal of Sociology 127, no. 6 (2022): 1824, https://doi.org/10.1086/720277.
2. Kwon, “Inclusion Work,” 1830.
Kwon, Hyeyoung. “Inclusion Work: Children of Immigrants Claiming Membership in Everyday Life.” American Journal of Sociology 127, no. 6 (2022): 1818–59. https://doi.org/10.1086/720277.
From Chicago Manual of Style, 18th ed., Ch. 13.26: Journal article and Ch. 14.70: Journal volume, issue, and date