Skip to Main Content
homepage homepage

COU 6303 : Techniques of Appraisal and Assessment: Medline

About Medline

MEDLINE

  • MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 27 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). 
  • MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed®.
  • Source: Currently, citations from more than  5,200  worldwide journals in about 40 languages; about 60 languages for older journals. 
  • Updates: ​Citations are added to PubMed 7 days a week. More than 956,390 citations were added to MEDLINE in 2019, and 952,919 in 2020.
  • Broad subject coverage: The subject scope of MEDLINE is biomedicine and health, broadly defined to encompass those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. MEDLINE also covers life sciences vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry. Increased coverage of life sciences began in 2000.

The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to particular segments of the NLM broad user community are also included. 

Accessing Medlne

EBSCOhost logo

 

Why Use MEDLINE?

MEDLINE Complete includes more than 1,300 journals not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source, Biomedical Reference Collection. In addition, MEDLINE Complete contains more than 1,000 unique journals not found in MEDLINE with Full Text