HIS 3356: Nineteenth Century European History: Books

The Smithsonian Library's 'Digital Library' contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories for collections such as our trade literature collection and artist files.

Use to find books either in the West Library or at other libraries. Books published before 1923 is usually available in their entirety for free. Google Books has scanned more than 25 million books from major libraries. It estimates that there are 130 million books in the world, and the intention it to scan all of them.

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. This digital library currently has: 7,839,381 total volumes, 4,406,107 book titles and 195,241 serial titles.

This web site began by archiving web pages, and has twenty years of web history. It now contains access to 279 billion archived web pages. There are also over 11 million books and texts, 4 million audio recordings, 3 million videos (including 1 million Television News programs).

The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books (about 1 million) that are freely readable over the Internet. The Online Books Page was founded, and is edited, by John Mark Ockerbloom, He is a digital library planner and researcher at the University of Pennsylvania. He is solely responsible for the content of the site. The site is hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries, who provide the server, disk space, and network bandwidth for the site.

Oxford University is internationally renowned for its scholarly library collections, and in particular for those of the Bodleian Library which has been a library of deposit for almost 400 years. The University has a long tradition in digital scholarship and there are a number of completed library projects focusing on the digitization of primary resources. Some of the primary sources digitized include Celtic and Medieval Manuscripts or 'Early Manuscripts at Oxford', Images of Medieval Manuscripts, the Oxford Text Archive.

Project Gutenberg is an online library of eBooks in the public domain, including fiction, non-fiction, classics, law, and technical.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.