LibGuides: HIS 3356: Nineteenth Century European History: Periodical Indexes & Journal Databases

Paper Periodical Indices

You can use these older Periodical Indexes to look for older magazine and journal articles about the Renaissance and Reformation and early modern period of Europe.

Humanities Index
Call Number: Located on 2nd floor

An Index of selected periodicals (345) in the subjects of archology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and related subjects.

Online Versions of Humanities Index

Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
This database provides full text abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles interviews obituaries and original works of fiction drama poetry and much more.Content Includes:
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Provides indexing to humanities and social sciences magazine and journal articles published between 1907 and 1984.

Social Sciences Index
Call Number: Located on 2nd Floor

Publication Date: 1982-2000

An index of selected periodicals (415) in the subjects of anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice and criminology, economics, family studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, social work and public welfare, sociology, urban studies, women's studies, and related subjects.
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature
Call Number: Located on 2nd FLoor

Publication Date: 1982-2007

This is a cummulative author-subject index to about 275 popular interest magazines, including American History, Arizona Highways, Astronomy, Atlantic Monthly, Better Homes and Garden, Christianity Today, D (Dallas), Jet, Maclean's. New Republic, Newsweek, Pyshcology Today, Reader's Digest and Time.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Call Number: Located on 2nd floor

Publication Date: 1802-1906

Indexes 216 general periodicals This index was begun by William Frederick Poole and first published in 1853, with later editions and supplements that brought the coverage of periodicals from 1802 to 1906.

Karl Marx & Friedrich Nietzsche

Index to Essays

Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson)
Contains citations to essays and articles on the humanities and social sciences. These essays are found in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.

Journal Databases

You can use the following journal databases to find current and older articles about the Renaissance and Reformation and early modern period of Europe.

Academic Search Complete
This database covers many subjects found at colleges and universities. Contains articles from thousands of journals, magazines, news sources, and videos from the Associated Press.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Fuente Academica Premier
Fuente Academica Priemier is a collection of scholarly journals in Spanish and English from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain, covering all major subject areas.
JSTOR
JSTOR offers journals, ebooks, and primary source collections, allowing researchers to retrieve high-resolution scanned images as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The resources archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Sage Journals
Provides access to journals for the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Contains articles from journals and magazines, plus books and conference papers on all aspects of sociology. The full text in the title means that for some the resources, the entire resource in available in the database.