LibGuides: PSY 4351: Experimental Research Methods: Books

Three Ways to Find and Use Books

1. Library Catalog

The Texas Wesleyan University Library catalog allows you to search through the print books that are located on the third floor. You can also access many electronic books through the catalog. The Library Catalog is accessed by using the second tab above the search box on the Library webpage. It is called Search Books and More
WorldCat
Find items in libraries near you. WorldCat.org connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.
3. InterLibrary Loan

Use when you are unable to find resources from the TxWes Library. This service allows you to borrow from another library. You submit the request for a book or journal article, and we'll find a library that has the requested item, ask them to send a copy to us, and then we'll notify you when the item is available.

Open Book Collections

The Internet Archive: Books Collection
The Internet Archive Books Collection contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is an online library of eBooks in the public domain, including fiction, non-fiction, classics, law, and technical.
Turning the Pages on the web
The British Library has digitized important historical works, such as Lindisfarne Gospels, Da Vinci's notebook, Sherborne Missal among others.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. This digital library currently has: 7,839,381 total volumes, 4,406,107 book titles and 195,241 serial titles.

Locating psychology books in the library

Psychology books, 3rd floor (in BF) Psychiatry books, 3rd floor (in RC)

How Books are arranged on the shelves

The books on the 3rd floor are arranged in a specific manner. Our Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system, which assigns a letter or letters to specific subjects. Here is where the books on psychology fall in this classification system.

B: Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
- BF Psychology
  - BF173-175.5 Psychoanalysis
  - BF176-176.5 Psychological tests and testing
  - BF180-198.7 Experimental psychology
  - BF203 Gestalt psychology
  - BF207-209 Psychotropic drugs and other substances
  - BF231-299 Sensation. Aesthesiology
  - BF309-499 Consciousness. Cognition Including learning, attention, comprehension, memory, imagination, genius, intelligence, thought and thinking, psycholinguistics, mental fatigue
  - BF501-505 Motivation
  - BF511-593 Affection. Feeling. Emotion
  - BF608-635 Will. Volition. Choice. Control
  - BF636-637 Applied psychology
  - BF638-648 New Thought. Menticulture, etc.
  - BF660-685 Comparative psychology. Animal and human psychology
  - BF692-692.5 Psychology of sex. Sexual behavior
  - BF697-697.5 Differential psychology. Individuality. Self
  - BF698-698.9 Personality
  - BF699-711 Genetic psychology
  - BF712-724.85 Developmental psychology Including infant psychology, child psychology, adolescence, adulthood
  - BF725-727 Class psychology
  - BF795-839 Temperament. Character
  - BF839.8-885 Physiognomy. Phrenology
  - BF889-905 Graphology. Study of handwriting
  - BF908-940 The hand. Palmistry
  - BF1001-1389 Parapsychology
R Medicine (General)
- RC Internal Medicine
  - RC49-52 Psychosomatic medicine
  - RC435-571 Psychiatry
  - RC475-489 Therapeutics. Psychotherapy
  - RC490-499 Hypnotism and hypnosis. Suggestion therapy
  - RC500-510 Psychoanalysis
  - RC512-569.5 Psychopathology
  - RC512-528 Psychoses
  - RC530-552 Neuroses
  - RC554-569.5 Personality disorders. Behavior problems Including sexual problems, drug abuse, suicide, child abuse

Library of Congress Classification

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Borrowing from other libraries
The TexShare Card is a statewide library card for registered users of participating TexShare Libraries. To take advantage of the TexShare Card Program: Students and faculty may register for and receive a TexShare Card at West Library's Circulation Desk. Student cards expire at the end of each semester. For information on participating libraries and their lending policies visit their site. Present your TexShare card at the participating TexShare library's circulation desk to activate your checkout privileges. You may be required to show a photo I.D. Check out materials from the participating TexShare library. Return the materials to the lending library by the due date. Fees will be assessed for lost, late, or damaged materials.
Interlibrary Loan
This service allows you to borrow from another library. You submit the request for a book or journal article, and we'll find a library that has the requested item, ask them to send a copy to us, and then we'll notify you when the item is available. Use InterLibrary Loan after you have found books on WorldCat, or journal articles that we don't have.

PSY 4351: Experimental Research Methods: Books

Three Ways to Find and Use Books

1. Library Catalog

3. InterLibrary Loan

Open Book Collections

Locating psychology books in the library

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)