EDU 2399: Special Topics : Elementary science lesson plans: Websites for Lesson Plans

The subtitle of this website is "connecting educators to what works," and includes teacher essentials, lesson plans, and technology use in the classroom.

This site offers more than 3 million free and paid resources, created by educators who understand what works in the classroom.

The National Geographic Society is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization dedicated to exploring our planet, protecting wildlife and habitats, and helping assure that students in K-12 are geographically literate. The Education page at this site provides many great geographical activities for kids.

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. You can search by keyword, subject and education level.

TeachWithMe.com was launched in August 2010. TWM is owned and operated by Diane Henderson who lives and teaches in Michigan. Everything's FREE! 1000's of pages: Projects, Patterns, Tips & Lessons

Bill Nye, scientist, engineer, comedian, author, and inventor, is a man with a mission: to help foster a scientifically literate society, to help people everywhere understand and appreciate the science that makes our world work. Making science entertaining and accessible is something Bill has been doing most of his life. On this page you can access all the episodes of the Bill Nye the Science Guy Series.

With Education.com's interactive science lesson plans for different grade levels, teachers and parents can use these lesson plans to have students look forward to learning about the color spectrum and solar system, as well as more generally, chemistry and physics, with their peers everyday.

Find Environmental Awareness lesson plans and worksheets.

Get your kindergarten through fifth-grade students started using these NOAA resources. We gathered lessons, activities, and other materials specifically for elementary educators from across the agency and our partners.

“Science Bob” Pflugfelder is a science teacher, author, maker, and presenter that knows how to share the world of science like never before. His television appearances include The Today Show, Hack My Life, Good Morning America, Home & Family and others. Bob encourages parents and teachers to practice Random Acts of Science by providing instructions and videos for interactive science experiments on his web site.

Science Kids is the online home of science & technology for children around the world. It contains experiments, facts, games, quizzes, projects, lessons, images, and videos.

Share My Lesson is a destination for educators who dedicate their time and professional expertise to provide the best education for students everywhere.

Steve Spangler is a teacher, science toy designer, speaker, author and an Emmy award-winning television personality. Spangler is the founder of SteveSpanglerScience.com, a Denver-based company specializing in the creation of science toys, classroom science demonstrations, teacher resources. While there are science products and toys that you can buy on this site, there are many experiments and teacher resources that are available for free.

This section features science lessons created by real teachers working in schools across the United States.

Janice VanCleave taught science for 27 years. She has published over 50 science books for kids from kindergarten through high school. This website is an extension of her books and is your guide to science projects, experiments, and science research

This website is brought to you by the National Earth Science Teachers Association, and it contains over 9000 web pages and over 60 main sections of content about all aspects of science, including the sun, the earth, the solar system, space, geology, chemistry physics and biology. Windows to the Universe and its educational resources have been reviewed by NASA's Office of Space Sciences and Earth Science Enterprise, receiving exemplary status. There are many games and activities that a teacher can use in class also.

Kathy Schrock has been a school district Director of Technology, an instructional technology specialist, and a middle school, academic, museum, and public library librarian. In 1995, Kathy created the award-winning site, Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators, to help teachers easily wade through the many resources on the Web. In 1999, she partnered with Discovery Education and maintained the site until late 2012 when the site was retired. Kathy's current online resources may be found on Kathy Schrock's Guide to Everything! JoAnn says that her website is a good source for lesson plans.

Pinterest is a great place for lesson plan ideas, and science experiments. See the link below for science lesson plans.

Scholastic has lesson plan ideas and also lesson plans to go along with their books. Jo Ann says that when she was teaching they had Scholastic book fairs in the spring, at which time students could purchase books, and also teachers could purchase books for their class.

This website has worksheets that teachers can print out on all different subjects.

The goal of TeacherTube is to provide an online community for sharing instructional videos. We seek to fill a need for a more educationally focused, safe venue for teachers, schools, and home learners. It is a site to provide anytime, anywhere professional development with teachers teaching teachers. As well, it is a site where teachers can post videos designed for students to view in order to learn a concept or skill.

“Mr. and Mrs. Farino” are the creators and managers of www.TheTeachersCafe.com. They are both current elementary school teachers (4th grade). They originally started the site in 2004 just to have a way to store worksheets in a printable online way. Later videos, and games were added There are four categories: math, science, reading, social studies

The Teacher's Corner is based in Castle Rock, a town about 20 miles south of Denver, Colorado. It contains free resources that are printable worksheets, lesson plans, seasonal items, bulletin boards, collaboration projects, teacher resources, thematic units, and more!

Come explore the wonderous world with everybody's best friend, Blippi. How does a recycling truck work? What does a baker do? What is the best playground around? There are so many exciting things to explore and learn. Feed your kids’ curiosity while they learn about vehicles, animals, the natural world and so much more. Blippi helps children‘s understanding of the world and encourages vocabulary development. Blippi loves visiting exciting places such as children’s museums and the zoo! His contagious curiosity engages young viewers in learning adventures that help them both grow and develop.

This channel contains a lot of videos for 5th grade science and also other topics.

Khan Academy Kids — our free app for children ages 2 to 7 — was created by experienced early learning experts who have created 22 other top-selling titles and received 22 Parents’ Choice Awards, 19 Children’s Technology Review Awards, and a KAPi award for Best Children’s App at the International Consumer Electronics Show.

Songs for children. Kids songs. Educational songs and videos for children, toddlers and babies.

Looking for authentic science demonstrations? You've landed at the right place. Science experiments provide hours of fun and we believe in keeping it simple and awesome at the same time. Find easy science experiments for people of all ages to do at home. Have a look at our fun experiments from LAB 360!

Nat Geo Kids makes it fun to explore your world with weird, wild, and wacky videos! Videos featuring awesome animals, cool science, funny pets, and more, are made just for curious kids.

Peekaboo is a cheerful destination with colourful animation! Specially designed for kids as they explore the World of Kids Educational Videos, Classic English songs, Phonics Songs, Lullabies and more! Come join us and meet Dr. Binocs only on Peekaboo Kidz.

Have you ever done a science experiment and wondered “What would this be like if it were HUGE?” Welcome to Science Max, the exciting new series that turbocharges all the science experiments you’ve done at home.

SciShow, contains videos that delves into what makes the universe tick. These videos can be used in a classroom setting to help quench your student's curiosity about... everything.

Created in 2005 by Steve Spangler, SICK Science is a collection of easy science experiments you can do at home. You'll find 250 videos in this collection

WhizKidScience contains videos of easy kids science experiments that students can do at home.