LibGuides: MCO 1302: Mass Media and Society Online: Individual Databases

Why Search One Database at a time?

image: a black question mark in a red circle

Why Search One Database at a Time When You Can Search Everything at Once?

You may miss some important articles if you search everything at once
You will have less articles to sift through
Individual Databases have extra features not available in Search Everything

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Why Should I use Google Scholar?

Google Scholar includes journal and conference papers, theses and dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research. You'll find works from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies and university repositories, as well as scholarly articles available anywhere across the web. Google Scholar also includes court opinions and patents.

How to set up Google Scholar So that it will retrieve articles that the West Library has

•1. Go to Google Scholar

•2. Click on settings

•3. Click on Library Links on the left

•4. Type in Texas Wesleyan Library in the box

Journal Databases

Why use these databases: To find scholarly articles from journals, and to find magazine articles, and to find newspaper articles in one search.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers many subjects found at colleges and universities. Contains articles from thousands of journals, magazines, news sources, and videos from the Associated Press.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in hundreds of journals. Articles cover all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source of information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends in the legal world.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers a large collection of popular magazines, plus journals, books, primary source documents, more than 2 million photos, maps, flags, and thousands of videos from the Associated Press (AP).
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals for the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from journals and magazines, plus books and conference papers on all aspects of sociology. The full text in the title means that for some the resources, the entire resource in available in the database.