You are here

Campus Break Day; Library Closed October 6th

Campus Break Day; Library Closed image
Friday, October 6, 2017 (All day)

Texas Wesleyan University and West Library will be closed October 6th.  Normal library hours will resume October 7th.

Mitchell-Reed Community of Learners Jan. 30

Mitchell-Reed Community of Learners Jan. 30
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 12:15pm to 1:30pm
Location: 
Bernice Coulter Templeton Art Studio

Join us for a Mitchell-Reed Community of Learners Lecture at 12:15 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 30 at the Bernice Coulter Templeton Art Studio.  Artists Liz Trosper and Tom Motley will be present to discuss their current art exhibit fluid dialog, which “presents a unique conversation” between the two friends.  Brown bag lunches are welcome; light refreshments will be provided by the Office of the Provost.

From the artist statements:

January Hours

January Library Hours

January 1st - 7th, CLOSED
January 8th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
January 9th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
January 10th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
January 11th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
January 12th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
January 13th - 14th, CLOSED
December Hours

December Library Hours

Friday, December 8th, 7:30am - 10:00pm
Saturday, December 9th, 8:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday,December 10th, Noon - Midnight
Monday, December 11th, 7:30am - 12:00am
Tuesday, December 12th, 7:30am - 7:00pm
Wednesday, December 13th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
Thursday, December 14th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
Friday, December 15th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
Saturday and Sunday, December 16th & 17th, CLOSED
Monday, December 18th, 7:30am - 5:00pm

West Library Annual Christmas Tree Decorating Contest

West Library Annual Christmas Tree Decorating Contest
Saturday, November 11, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 12, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 13, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 16, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 17, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 18, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 19, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 20, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 23, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 24, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 25, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 26, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 27, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 30, 2017 (All day)
Friday, December 1, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, December 2, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, December 3, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 4, 2017 (All day)
Location: 
First Floor
The annual West Library Christmas Tree Decorating Contest is upon us!  The contest begins on Nov. 11 and 50 trees are available on a first-come, first-served basis for groups and individuals to decorate. 
 
Miniature trees can be picked up from the Circulation Desk during business hours starting Nov. 11, and return it no later than Dec. 4 to have it put on display. 
 
Decoration categories include Traditional Christmas, Wesleyan Tradition and Non-Traditional.
 

Christmas Tree Decorating Winners and Auction

Christmas Tree Decorating Winners and Auction
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm
Location: 
First floor
We'll announce the winners of the Christmas tree decorating contest on Wednesday, Dec. 6 at noon on the first floor of the library.  Two prizes will be awarded in each category (Traditional, Non-traditional and Wesleyan).
 
The Christmas tree auction will start shortly after the winners are announced.  Bidding for all trees starts at $10, with all proceeds going to Meals on Wheels of Tarrant County. Joe "Pro Joe" Brown will serve as auctioneer, and festive cookies and hot chocolate will be served during the event.
George Anson Collection coming to West Library Image

George Anson Collection coming to West Library

All the excitement over the university’s new Steinway piano has inspired the library to begin digitizing the works of George Anson and other ephemera from his time at Texas Wesleyan.

Lunch-N-Lecture: Banned! Censored! Challenged!: 1984’s Complicated Relationship with Libraries

Lunch-N-Lecture: Banned! Censored! Challenged!: 1984’s Complicated Relationship with Libraries
Tuesday, October 3, 2017 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Location: 
Library Orientation Room

Please join Risa Brown, of West Library Reference Department, for a discussion on the complicated relationships libraries have endured with banned and challenged books.  Lunch will be provided for the first 20 students in attendance.  

For more information, email reference@txwes.edu or call 817-531-4802.  

Public reading of the book 1984

Public reading of the book 1984
Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - 11:45am to 1:30pm
Location: 
Library Front Steps

The Eunice & James L. West Library will kick off a school wide TXWES Reads! with George Orwell’s dystopian novel 1984 with a year’s worth of events and activities. 1984 has taken on new relevance in today’s world. The hope is to generate thought provoking discussions outside of the classroom that could impact a new understanding of the world. The library encourages faculty, staff, and students to read and participate in the various events planned this fall.