You are here

What's happening at West Library

Lunch-N-Lecture: George Orwell Unplugged: Political Views, Social Impact, and "Alternative Facts!"

Lunch-N-Lecture: George Orwell Unplugged: Political Views, Social Impact, and "Alternative Facts!"
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 12:15pm to 1:15pm
Location: 
Orientation Room

Please join us for presentations by Dennis Miles and Drs. Michelle Payne and Chris Manno titled: George Orwell Unplugged: Political Views, Social Impact, and "Alternative Facts!".  This presentation will provide political, literary, and biographical perspectives to 1984 and Orwell's life.  Lunch provided for the first 15 in attendance.

TxWes Reads '1984' events continue in the Spring Semester

TxWes Reads '1984' events continue in the Spring Semester

TxWes Reads '1984' events continue in the Spring Semester

Lunch-N-Lecture: Big Brother problems: social media, surveillance, and the world Orwell warned us about

Lunch-N-Lecture: Big Brother problems: social media, surveillance, and the world Orwell warned us about
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 12:15pm to 1:15pm
Location: 
Orientation Room

Please join Marquel Anteola, Reference and Instruction Librarian, as she moderates a panel discussion called Big Brother problems: social media, surveillance, and the world Orwell warned us about.  Panelists include Drs. Cary Adkinson and Kay Colley.  Lunch will be provided for the first 15 in attendance.  

For more information, email reference@txwes.edu or call 817-531-4802.

Library Items on Reserve

Library items on Reserve have strict rules that will be enforced beginning immediately.

Mitchell-Reed Community of Learners Jan. 30

Mitchell-Reed Community of Learners Jan. 30
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 12:15pm to 1:30pm
Location: 
Bernice Coulter Templeton Art Studio

Join us for a Mitchell-Reed Community of Learners Lecture at 12:15 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 30 at the Bernice Coulter Templeton Art Studio.  Artists Liz Trosper and Tom Motley will be present to discuss their current art exhibit fluid dialog, which “presents a unique conversation” between the two friends.  Brown bag lunches are welcome; light refreshments will be provided by the Office of the Provost.

From the artist statements:

Library 3rd floor study rooms require key check-out

Library 3rd floor study rooms require key check-out

Study rooms on the 3rd floor of the Library now use key access. They are still available on a first-come, first-serve basis; however, users need to go to the Circulation Desk to check out a key prior to accessing the rooms. Rooms are available for a period of four hours. If you need additional study time, please return to the Circulation Desk prior to the end of the 4 hours to renew the key check-out time.
January Hours

January Library Hours

January 1st - 7th, CLOSED
January 8th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
January 9th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
January 10th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
January 11th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
January 12th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
January 13th - 14th, CLOSED
December Hours

December Library Hours

Friday, December 8th, 7:30am - 10:00pm
Saturday, December 9th, 8:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday,December 10th, Noon - Midnight
Monday, December 11th, 7:30am - 12:00am
Tuesday, December 12th, 7:30am - 7:00pm
Wednesday, December 13th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
Thursday, December 14th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
Friday, December 15th, 7:30am - 5:00pm
Saturday and Sunday, December 16th & 17th, CLOSED
Monday, December 18th, 7:30am - 5:00pm

De-stress with therapy dogs!!!

De-stress with therapy dogs!!!
Monday, December 4, 2017 - 12:30pm to 4:00pm
Location: 
Orientation Room
Come relax and de-stress with Paws Across Texas and their therapy dogs before finals arrive! Paws Across Texas "provide(s) diversified therapy programs using trained volunteers (representatives) and their privately owned companion animals (registered therapy dogs)."
 

West Library Annual Christmas Tree Decorating Contest

West Library Annual Christmas Tree Decorating Contest
Saturday, November 11, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 12, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 13, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 16, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 17, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 18, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 19, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 20, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 23, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 24, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 25, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 26, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 27, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 30, 2017 (All day)
Friday, December 1, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, December 2, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, December 3, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 4, 2017 (All day)
Location: 
First Floor
The annual West Library Christmas Tree Decorating Contest is upon us!  The contest begins on Nov. 11 and 50 trees are available on a first-come, first-served basis for groups and individuals to decorate. 
 
Miniature trees can be picked up from the Circulation Desk during business hours starting Nov. 11, and return it no later than Dec. 4 to have it put on display. 
 
Decoration categories include Traditional Christmas, Wesleyan Tradition and Non-Traditional.