You are here

What's happening at West Library

De-stress with therapy dogs

De-stress with therapy dogs

The therapy dogs are coming to the library!

De-stress with therapy dogs!!!

De-stress with therapy dogs!!!
Monday, December 4, 2017 - 12:30pm to 4:00pm
Location: 
Orientation Room
Come relax and de-stress with Paws Across Texas and their therapy dogs before finals arrive! Paws Across Texas "provide(s) diversified therapy programs using trained volunteers (representatives) and their privately owned companion animals (registered therapy dogs)."
 

West Library Annual Christmas Tree Decorating Contest

West Library Annual Christmas Tree Decorating Contest
Repeats every day until Mon Dec 04 2017.
Saturday, November 11, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 12, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 13, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 16, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 17, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 18, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 19, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 20, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 23, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 24, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 25, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 26, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 27, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 30, 2017 (All day)
Friday, December 1, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, December 2, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, December 3, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 4, 2017 (All day)
Location: 
First Floor
The annual West Library Christmas Tree Decorating Contest is upon us!  The contest begins on Nov. 11 and 50 trees are available on a first-come, first-served basis for groups and individuals to decorate. 
 
Miniature trees can be picked up from the Circulation Desk during business hours starting Nov. 11, and return it no later than Dec. 4 to have it put on display. 
 
Decoration categories include Traditional Christmas, Wesleyan Tradition and Non-Traditional.
 

Christmas Tree Decorating Winners and Auction

Christmas Tree Decorating Winners and Auction
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm
Location: 
First floor
We'll announce the winners of the Christmas tree decorating contest on Wednesday, Dec. 6 at noon on the first floor of the library.  Two prizes will be awarded in each category (Traditional, Non-traditional and Wesleyan).
 
The Christmas tree auction will start shortly after the winners are announced.  Bidding for all trees starts at $10, with all proceeds going to Meals on Wheels of Tarrant County. Joe "Pro Joe" Brown will serve as auctioneer, and festive cookies and hot chocolate will be served during the event.
Thanksgiving Holiday Hours image

Thanksgiving Holiday Hours

Library hours for Thanksgiving Week:

Sunday, November 19th, 1pm – 5pm

Monday, November 20th, 7:30am – 5pm

Tuesday, November 21st, 7:30am – 5pm

Wednesday, November 22nd, 7:30am – Noon

West Library will close at noon, Wednesday, November 22nd for Thanksgiving.  Normal hours will resume Monday, November 27th.

International Games Day

International Games Day
Friday, November 3, 2017 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Location: 
Library - First Floor
The library is hosting the annual International Games Week celebration from noon-4 p.m. on Nov. 3.
 
So you think you have game? Read, learn and play with us on the first floor of West Library for snacks, board games and lots of fun! Join us in celebrating the popularity and educational, recreational and social value of video and board games for International Games Week 2017.
George Anson Collection coming to West Library Image

George Anson Collection coming to West Library

All the excitement over the university’s new Steinway piano has inspired the library to begin digitizing the works of George Anson and other ephemera from his time at Texas Wesleyan.

Meals on Wheels Gifting Tree

Meals on Wheels Gifting Tree
Repeats every day until Mon Dec 11 2017.
Saturday, November 11, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 12, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 13, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 16, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 17, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 18, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 19, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 20, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 23, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 24, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 25, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 26, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 27, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 30, 2017 (All day)
Friday, December 1, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, December 2, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, December 3, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 4, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, December 7, 2017 (All day)
Friday, December 8, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, December 9, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, December 10, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 11, 2017 (All day)
Location: 
Circulation Desk

For the 14th year, West Library is partnering with Meals on Wheels of Tarrant County, and we need you to make it a success!  The Library will have a gifting tree, where you can choose a star with the name of the item you’d like to gift, purchase it, and return it unwrapped to the circulation desk with the star attached to it.

The gifting tree will be available Nov. 11, and you are asked to return items on or before Dec. 11 – unwrapped – to the circulation desk.  All gifts will go directly to seniors participating in the Meals on Wheels program. 

International Week

International Week 2017
Repeats every day until Fri Nov 10 2017.
Monday, November 6, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 9, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 10, 2017 (All day)
Location: 
First Floor

Eunice and James L. West Library will be celebrating International Week 2017.  From Nov. 6-13, West Library will have a book and information on display for each country represented by Texas Wesleyan University international students.  Stop by to learn about the various countries and customs that make up our Ramily.  

Library 'Snapshot Day' 2017

Library 'Snapshot Day' 2017
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 - 8:00am to 11:59pm
Location: 
West Library

West Library will be participating in Texas Library “Snapshot Day” a library advocacy event sponsored by the Texas Library Association on Halloween. We will be compiling statistics, comments from our students, faculty, and staff, as well as taking photographs to provide a glimpse into the quintessential day to day adventures here at the library.

Supporters of West Library are asked to drop by to share what it is they love about the library and what they feel it contributes to Wesleyan and campus life.