You are here

West Library Events

West Library Annual Christmas Tree Decorating Contest

West Library Annual Christmas Tree Decorating Contest
Repeats every day until Mon Dec 04 2017.
Saturday, November 11, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 12, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 13, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 16, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 17, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 18, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 19, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 20, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 23, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 24, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 25, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 26, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 27, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 30, 2017 (All day)
Friday, December 1, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, December 2, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, December 3, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 4, 2017 (All day)
Location: 
First Floor
The annual West Library Christmas Tree Decorating Contest is upon us!  The contest begins on Nov. 11 and 50 trees are available on a first-come, first-served basis for groups and individuals to decorate. 
 
Miniature trees can be picked up from the Circulation Desk during business hours starting Nov. 11, and return it no later than Dec. 4 to have it put on display. 
 
Decoration categories include Traditional Christmas, Wesleyan Tradition and Non-Traditional.
 

Christmas Tree Decorating Winners and Auction

Christmas Tree Decorating Winners and Auction
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm
Location: 
First floor
We'll announce the winners of the Christmas tree decorating contest on Wednesday, Dec. 6 at noon on the first floor of the library.  Two prizes will be awarded in each category (Traditional, Non-traditional and Wesleyan).
 
The Christmas tree auction will start shortly after the winners are announced.  Bidding for all trees starts at $10, with all proceeds going to Meals on Wheels of Tarrant County. Joe "Pro Joe" Brown will serve as auctioneer, and festive cookies and hot chocolate will be served during the event.

Meals on Wheels Gifting Tree

Meals on Wheels Gifting Tree
Repeats every day until Mon Dec 11 2017.
Saturday, November 11, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 12, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 13, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 16, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 17, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 18, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 19, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 20, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 23, 2017 (All day)
Friday, November 24, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, November 25, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, November 26, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 27, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, November 30, 2017 (All day)
Friday, December 1, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, December 2, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, December 3, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 4, 2017 (All day)
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 (All day)
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 (All day)
Thursday, December 7, 2017 (All day)
Friday, December 8, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, December 9, 2017 (All day)
Sunday, December 10, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 11, 2017 (All day)
Location: 
Circulation Desk

For the 14th year, West Library is partnering with Meals on Wheels of Tarrant County, and we need you to make it a success!  The Library will have a gifting tree, where you can choose a star with the name of the item you’d like to gift, purchase it, and return it unwrapped to the circulation desk with the star attached to it.

The gifting tree will be available Nov. 11, and you are asked to return items on or before Dec. 11 – unwrapped – to the circulation desk.  All gifts will go directly to seniors participating in the Meals on Wheels program. 

Lunch-N-Lecture: Banned! Censored! Challenged!: 1984’s Complicated Relationship with Libraries

Lunch-N-Lecture: Banned! Censored! Challenged!: 1984’s Complicated Relationship with Libraries
Tuesday, October 3, 2017 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Location: 
Library Orientation Room

Please join Risa Brown, of West Library Reference Department, for a discussion on the complicated relationships libraries have endured with banned and challenged books.  Lunch will be provided for the first 20 students in attendance.  

For more information, email reference@txwes.edu or call 817-531-4802.  

Public reading of the book 1984

Public reading of the book 1984
Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - 11:45am to 1:30pm
Location: 
Library Front Steps

The Eunice & James L. West Library will kick off a school wide TXWES Reads! with George Orwell’s dystopian novel 1984 with a year’s worth of events and activities. 1984 has taken on new relevance in today’s world. The hope is to generate thought provoking discussions outside of the classroom that could impact a new understanding of the world. The library encourages faculty, staff, and students to read and participate in the various events planned this fall.